STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT File No. 49543

IN RE THE REDISTRICTING OF THE EIGHTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

SECOND AMENDED ORDER

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has previously approved a plan for the partial redistricting of the Eighth Judicial District;

WHEREAS, said partial redistricting plan of the Eighth Judicial District is contained in orders of this Court dated December 21, 1978 and October 24, 1979, copies of which are attached;

WHEREAS, the Honorable John J. Weyrens, Judge of County Court of Lac Qui Parle County, Minnesota, has been appointed to serve and discharge the duties of Judge of the District Court for the Eighth Judicial District of Minnesota;

WHEREAS, the appointment of Judge Weyrens would create a vacancy in the position of Judge of County Court of Lac Qui Parle County, Minnesota;

WHEREAS, the Minnesota Supreme Court has studied the caseload situation, geographical deployment of existing judges and other factors and has determined that an appointment to fill such vacancy would be unnecessarily wasteful of economic and human resources;

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes 1980, Section 487.01, subdivision 6, authorizes the Supreme Court to combine two or more county court districts for the more effective administration of justice;

WHEREAS, Minnesota Statutes 487.01, subdivision 6, also provides that if two or more county court districts are combined, the office of a judge may be terminated at the expiration of his term;

WHEREAS, the appointment of Judge Weyrens to the District Court of the Eighth Judicial District is effective July 1, 1982:

WHEREAS, such appointment effectuates the termination of Judge Weyrens' term of office as Judge of County Court as of 12:00 midnight on June 30, 1982;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the existing County Court District 8A, comprising the counties of Lac Qui Parle, Chippewa, Yellow Medicine and Renville counties, and the existing County Court District 8B, comprising the counties of Swift, Kandiyohi and Meeker counties, are combined into a single County Court District, to be denominated as County Court District "8A";

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the existing County Court District 8C, comprising the counties of Wilkin, Grant, Traverse, Big Stone, Stevens and Pope, shall be denominated as County Court District "8B";

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the position of County Court Judge for Lac Qui Parle County be, and the same hereby is, terminated as of 12:00 midnight on June 30, 1982;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the provisions of the Supreme Court Orders of December 21, 1978 and October 24, 1979, shall continue in full force and effect to the extent that they are consistent with this Order.

Dated: June 30, 1982.

SUPREME COURT

JUN 3 0 1982

JOHN McCARTHY

BY THE COURT

Chief Justice